U.S. Dollar

The United States dollar - U.S. dollar - often referred to simply sign $, US$ or international code USD. Since 1781 the official currency of the United States. One U.S. Dollar is divided into one hundred cents U.S. ($ 1 = 100 cents). Apart from United States the dollar is also the official currency in such countries and territories as:

  • Bonaire
  • United States Minor Outlying Islands
  • Ecuador (from 2001 year)
  • Guam
  • Netherlands Antilles (from 2011 year)
  • Northern Mariana Islands (from 1978 year)
  • Panama (only USD banknotes, from 1904 year)
  • Puerto Rico (from 1952 year)
  • Saba
  • El Salvador (from 2001 year)
  • American Samoa
  • Sint Eustatius
  • United States Virgin Islands (from 1916 year)
and as a second unofficial currency in:
  • Afganistan
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bermuda
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cambodia
  • Lebanon
  • Federated States of Micronesia
  • Palau
  • East Timor
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Vietnam
  • Marshall Islnads
  • Zimbabwe

Apart from offical names the U.S. dollar has also a lot of nicknames:

- Singular names: buck, bill, bean, paper, smackeroo, ducat, doubloon, dead president, smacker and greenback.

- Plural names: dough, green, bread, bones, simoleons, bananas, skrilla, (bank) clams.

- Basing on denomnations, also: Washingtons, Jeffersons, Lincolns, Jacksons, Benjamins, Grants, Hamiltons; also peso in Puerto Rico, and piastre in Cajun Louisiana.