United States Mint was created by Congress under the Act Minting April 2, 1972. Currently the Mint is headquartered in Philadelphia, but also has offices in Denver, San Francisco, West Point and in Fort Knox. In the past, the Mint also had offices in Carson City and Washington.

Some coins (as opposed to bank notes) are no longer in use. Currently in circulation remains 6 of the 11 types of denominations of coins.